Sunday, June 25, 2017

Firecracker 100 Pick 'Em Results

The dust has settled and the results of our rain-soaked, weather-plagued Firecracker 100 Pick 'Em contest are finally in.

It was a challenging year for contestants as the poor weather forecasts had drivers adjusting their schedules every other day, leaving fans to guess who would simply be in the pits this weekend. Scott Bloomquist and Darrell Lanigan were two of the favorites heading into the event, and rightly so. But this year's edition of the Firecracker was one to forget for both drivers, as Bloomquist pulled out before the drop of the green with carburetor issues and Darrell Lanigan made his way to the infield with mechanical issues after just four laps were completed.

Ryan Cornman (@Corndaddy02) earns the title of the "7th Annual Firecracker 100 Pick 'Em Champion". Ryan is a pick 'em regular and his years of experience have finally paid off. Not only did he claim the first place prize of $75, but he did so with a 26 points margin over second place! Cornman assembled the driver roster of Brandon Overton, Brandon Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Devin Moran, Tyler Erb and Morgan Bagley.

David Andrychowski charged from deep in the field following the preliminary event on Saturday afternoon to claim the runner-up position. He'll receive a Firecracker 100 event t-shirt and $25 for his efforts Andrychowski's group of drivers consisted of Brandon Overton, Chris Madden, Shane Clanton, Chub Frank, Devin Moran and Morgan Bagley.

James Barber rounds out the podium in our Pick 'Em contest after the tiebreaker was used to separate the three-way tie we had for third place. The tiebreaker question used this year was closest car count. Barber's guess of 53 cars were closer than both Jeffrey DeJong [57] and Ken Marks [69] to the actual count of 45. Barber's selected drivers were Brandon Overton, Brandon Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Michael Norris, Russ King and Michael Lake. He'll receive a $15 Subway gift card for his third-place efforts.

Our next special event contest will be the annual Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup at Lernerville Speedway for the World of Outlaws sprints on July 18th. In the meantime, you can continue playing our Lernerville weekly pick 'em contest to hold you over.





No comments:

Post a Comment